Tags

, , , , ,

go-clockTerilyn’s Motivational Minute: The Giver’s Gift – la deuxième partie

So, last night I had an opportunity to put into action the concept of spontaneous giving. We were at an art show where my son, Taylor, had entered his hyperrealist drawing of Jennifer Lawrence. After the show, we were talking with a woman about the outcome of the show and she complimented the slide I was wearing, which had a somewhat triangular shape and a mix of different colors.

It was obvious that she really liked the pendant so I asked her if she wanted it. The look on her face was one of complete shock. She remarked, “Oh no, I certainly wouldn’t take your necklace.” I said, “No, I’m serious. You can have it.” Then I removed it from the chain and handed it to her.

This is the second time I have spontaneously given a piece of jewelry to a woman who complimented me on it. The first time was a few months back after my annual physical; I gave the slide to my family physician when she commented that it was exactly what she needed to see that day – it was a maroon square with a butterfly image embedded inside the stone. For reasons I didn’t understand, the butterfly had significant meaning to her.

In both of these instances, I immediately wondered if I would regret this act of giving – after all, it wasn’t something I had planned ahead of time and I don’t have duplicates of either slide. But… after just seconds, I knew it was the right thing to do. I didn’t wear either piece that often and, for both of these women, the slide seemed to really inspire them.

Before I left the show, the woman asked if she could hug me and she expressed immense surprise and gratitude for the gift she had been given. I left there feeling as if I had made a contribution to her life that she would remember. And, just maybe, I set an example that she might follow when the opportunity presents itself in her own life.

There’s no greater time than the present to share with others the blessings you’ve been given. Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you (Luke 6:38).

