Tags

, , , , ,

go clock

Terilyn’s Motivational Minute: The Giver’s Gift

Years ago, on one of our Christmas ski vacations; we went to Gunstock, a New Hampshire ski resort. It was the first and only time we have ever been night skiing, which made it a very memorable experience.

What made it even more memorable for me was what happened when we took a break to get something to eat. The eatery at the lodge only accepted cash, which I never carry. So, I inquired as to where I could find an ATM machine so I could go get the cash we needed for dinner.

The cashier gave me directions to a place on site that had an ATM, but before I could make it out the door, a woman stopped me and handed me $30. I told her I appreciated her offer, but I had the money; I just needed to get it from the ATM. She insisted that I take it.

Reluctantly, I accepted her offer and, after going through the line, I had $11 left over, which I attempted to return to her; an offer she refused. She told me to keep it and get the family dessert.

I got an opportunity to talk with this woman for a few minutes and found out that she was there with her teenage kids who she hadn’t seen in some time because they lived with their father. The ski trip was something she did annually with them, though she indicated it had been a couple of years since they had been together.

She explained to me that, each day, she finds an individual with whom she can share the blessings she has received in life. She said sometimes she gives money, sometimes she pays for a person’s meal, sometimes she takes care of the toll for one or more people behind her, etc. But, she won’t close out her day until she has found that opportunity to give.

I was extremely moved by this kind woman’s gesture and felt honored to meet someone with such a giving heart. Her example was a reminder to me that we can never give too much. The principle of reaping what you sow will always ensure that the rewards reaped will be far greater than the gifts given.

This woman’s kindness pointed me toward the giver of all things good in the person of Jesus Christ. Luke 6:38 gives us sound advice on giving: Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

Regardless of how little or how much we have been given, we can find ways to bless others. Whether it’s as simple as helping an elderly person get to their table or as substantive as offering money to a stranger, there is no better time than now to give.

