Tags

, , , , , , , ,

go clock

Motivational Minute: It Only Takes a Minute

I was at a restaurant with a friend and, when the server came to the table to get our drink order, I quite innocently asked her how she was doing. Although she said she was fine, her manner said otherwise, so I pressed a littler further: “Are you sure you’re doing okay?” That’s all it took to open the floodgates. Over the next few minutes, the server opened up to me about some very difficult things she was going through; she even sat down at the table at one point. The conversation was so extensive that my friend asked me how long I had known the server. Of course, I told her I didn’t know the server; I had just met her for the first time.

This encounter, and many others like it, has made me think about just how desperate people are for someone to listen to them, someone to care, someone with whom they can share their heart. It only takes a minute to show kindness to another person. We can never know the difference that kindness may make; for someone, it may be exactly what was needed to make it through the next struggle, the next leg of their journey. Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it (Hebrews 13:1-2). A gesture of kindness only takes a minute, but it can impact a lifetime.

