Tags

, , , ,

Motivational Minute: God’s Got Your Back

Imagine your car has broken down in the middle of nowhere, you have no phone service, and your only option is to knock on whatever doors you can find in hopes that someone will help you. You make your way from door to door, growing weary and frustrated as you’re either turned away or completely ignored. You’re just about ready to give up when, finally, a person not only responds to the knock but also agrees to take you wherever you need to go.

It seems that life sometimes yields similar results. We find ourselves repeatedly knocking on doors only to be disappointed by the outcome. As we move toward a goal, we can only see and respond to the door that’s right in front of us. And when that door remains closed, is only opened for a brief time, or leads to somewhere we hadn’t envisioned, it’s easy to get discouraged and disheartened. Fortunately, though we can’t see the big picture or understand the reasons why things aren’t working out as planned, we have a God who can and who offers us this promise: For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart (Jeremiah 29:11-13). In other words, God’s got your back, so keep knocking!

