Tags

, , , ,

Motivational Minute: Who Am I?

One of my Facebook friends posed the question, How much does your job play into your identity? This is something I’ve thought about many times, as who I am seems to be very connected with what I do. The problem with that is, if what you do changes, so too does your sense of self. When self-image and self-worth are intimately connected to job performance, it’s easy to feel as if you’re not all you should be unless everything in your work life meets the standards you and others have set. For this reason, it’s important to go on a quest to discover who we are as individuals, at our core – apart from work, apart from accomplishments, apart from what we do, and apart from others ‘ evaluation of our performance. Lying beneath the surface, hiding away somewhere, is an individual with inherent worth and value that is not dependent upon output but upon character. Psalms 139:13-15 reads, For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. Upon discovery of that ever-illusive self, perhaps we can then answer the question, How much of your identity plays into your job?

