Tags

, , , , ,

We’ve all seen the t-shirts with those crazy messages about the “voices” in your head. You know the ones I’m talking about, sayings like.… “The voices say I’m their favorite;” “I hate it when the voices in my head start arguing;” “I hear voices and they don’t like you;” “You’re just jealous because the voices only talk to me;” “I used to hear voices but we’re okay now…” And there are multiple variations on this same theme. Of course, while we laugh at these messages, the truth is most, if not all of us do hear voices in our heads; some positive, and some not so much.

A while back, my oldest son, Tre’, and I sang a song together during his high school chapel that deals with this very phenomenon. The song we chose was one by Casting Crowns entitled, Voice of Truth, the essence of which is combating the self-defeating messages we hear in our heads. For example, one of the verses reads,

But the giant’s calling out
my name and he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
time and time again
“Boy you’ll never win,
you’ll never win.”

As I reflected on the verse, it occurred to me how many times I hear similar messages in my own head, self-defeating thoughts about my body build, my age, my career goals, my daily activities, and so many more. They sound something like this… “I’m too fat;” “One person can’t really make a difference;” “I’m too old to be shifting career goals;” “I’ll never be organized, so why try…” And the messages go on and on ad nauseum. Fortunately, as in the follow up chorus in the song, these messages of life are by no means the “end of the story:”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

Now, every time I hear, hum, or sing this song, I can’t help but think about the warring battle that takes place in our minds between the voice of deception and the voice of truth. I realize that, while the negative thoughts can be powerful and, at times, even overwhelming, I have the choice to accept or reject them, thereby determining the path I will take. This truth serves as the driving impetus for a series of essays entitled, But the Voice of Truth Says…, the purpose of which is to uncover the voice of deception and discover the voice of truth. It is not until the voice of truth overpowers the voice of deception that we will know peace.

